Self Love

Rock that Belly Shirt, Belly Rolls and All

I have a love hate relationship with social media and the age of media that we live in. 

On one hand its awesome because people can use it to share so many positive messages and spread love, confidence, great and helpful information, and to connect with people in ways that would NEVER have been possible before. On the other hand, the internet and social media can also create a distorted image of people. It has the tendency to paint the picture that everyone else has the perfect life, a perfect body, and that they wake up looking runway ready everyday. IT IS AN ILLUSION. 

Social media is a collection of everyone’s best moments. People share about their new accomplishments, happy relationships, new cars, weight loss progress etc. This is awesome that we can share all of the great stuff in life, and I like being able to cheer on all my friends and family in person and online.

 It gets DANGEROUS when we start to compare ourselves to another person’s collection of highlights. 

I am guilty myself of having a pretty “Highlighted” social media feed myself. I post about all the awesome stuff I get to do and all my favorite and most awesome memories and friends. BUT, I like to keep it 100% real. SO, today I decided I would talk about yet another taboo topic and post some more unflattering photos of myself for the whole world to see. 

Say hello to my little belly roll…..


BELLY ROLLS ARE 100% NORMAL. 

99.9999999999% OF PEOPLE HAVE SOME SORT OF BELLY ROLL………   ESPECIALLY WHEN YOU SIT, SO DON’T BE AFRAID TO ROCK IT. 

WHEN YOU SEE FLAT BELLIES AND ABS ON INSTAGRAM, ITS ALL ABOUT THE ANGLES AND FLEXING THOSE ABS SUPER HARD. 

JUST BECAUSE YOU CAN PINCH UP A ROLL, BIG OR LITTLE, DOESN’T MEAN YOU AREN’T BEAUTIFUL OR THAT YOUR BODY ISN’T ROCKING. 

Ok, I think I am done yelling now. I just think it is so important, especially for me to share this message because since I’ve lost weight everyone tells me “wow you’re so tiny” or “please let me look like you” and this is an awesome compliment to my hard work but I want to share that I am not the perfect human. I am just like you and I’m on a journey that’s far from over myself. Even after losing weight I didn’t get the “perfect instagram body.” I STILL HAVE PLENTY OF ROLLS AND I LOVE THEM. (Sorry I wasn’t done yelling, whoops)

I used to think that the goal was to get rid of my rolls. I would pinch them every night before I went to bed and pray that they had gotten smaller. I would wish that I could just cut them off.  I hated my stomach SO MUCH. 


BUT, now I wear my belly shirts with pride and IDGAF what anyone else thinks. Learning to love your body is such a long but worth while process. Feeling comfortable in your own skin is so liberating. That being said, let me say this one more time. 

-Belly rolls are 100% normal. 

-Everyone has a belly roll,

-Don’t let another person’s profile fool you into thinking you are not enough. 

#SelfLoveCampaign #LoveYoSelf

Leave a Reply

